A Loaf of Buckwheat & Millet

Open Sandwiches

A few post ago I posted just the flour of Buckwheat & Millet, after some tinkering with the ingredients I came up with a loaf of Buckwheat & Millet. I am posting the recipe for you to try.

Tips;-

  • Since it is gluten-free the structure is rather fragile unlike regular bread. But with some creativity you can do a lot with it.
  • Try to slice as thin as possible, be careful too thin and it will break and if it is too thick it is dense, find a happy medium.
  • For savory open sandwiches mist it with some herbs, lemon, water and sea-salt and then place your toppings.
  • If you are going to use it for something like a peanut butter and honey sandwich mist with lemon and raw cane sugar solution.

I had some guests over so I decided to make some open sandwiches,  I came up with about 8 variations and served it, It came out pretty good, I’m posting some of the pictures so that you get an idea and perhaps you can come up with something fantastic.

I’d love to know what you came up with…..

Recipe Loaf of Buckwheat & Millet

 

I cup Buckwheat flour

1 cup Millet flour

1 Tsp. Jaggrey/raw sugar

1 packet of yeast

1 cup of warm water

1 Tsp, olive oil

1 tsp. sea salt

1 Tsp. of fresh rosemary finely chopped

 

Place warm water- about 105° f -mix in yeast and stir, add the jaggrey or raw cane sugar to the mixture and allow to germinate for about 5-10 minutes.

Then add liquid to the millet and buckwheat and mix well, then add the salt and fresh rosemary and olive oil, allow it to rise for about an hour. Use a loaf pan that is well greased and floured. A nonstick loaf pan will work very well.

This mix will not rise too much because the flour is quite dense, but the trade off is it’s gluten free. Make sure you place it in a warm moist place. Just about the stove with the oven on will keep it warm. You can also place a pot of water on the burner to create a moist environment. Allow it to sit for about an hour

After about an hour place the dough in a double boil and cover both with foil. This is key, other wise you will have a dry loaf.  But make sure the loaf pan is not over the ¾ level to avoid the dough from touching the foil covering.

Bake for about an hour remove from pan and place on a rack to cool.

Then slice and serve with  your favorite spread, or follow my lead, use it for open sandwiches.

 

Link to WPC

 

This entry was published on August 6, 2015 at 6:12 am. It’s filed under Baking, Cooking, dpchallenge, Food, foodie, Gluten-free, Photography, Postaday, Recipe, Uncategorized, vegetarian, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

35 thoughts on “A Loaf of Buckwheat & Millet

  1. Kreng Jai on said:

    So tempting, wish I was one of your guest that day😄

  2. The sandwiches are gorgeous little works of art! Your guests didn’t eat them, did they–too pretty! 😀

    • Believe me they did eat them. Although I need to experement a little more with it. I think I will get it to where I want it to be.

      Thanks for your wonderful comments.

  3. Can you parcel some to India … Please 😀 Beautiful Photos and very Yummy Food!

  4. This really made me hungry. It looks so tasty and fresh. Thanks!!

  5. Beautiful beautiful photography! Ahh that bread sounds beyond delicious. I’m a sucker for great breads! http://www.ourfoodieappetite.com/homemade-sparkling-basil-lemonade/

  6. tempting and mouthwatering 🙂

  7. I am a fortunate gluten-eater-with-no problems, but even to a white bread woman, this looks pretty good. Thanks.

  8. Very cool. I’m going to try this when I return home. I used to make a non-rising bread from sprouts. I also make a mean bowl of chili. Great photo of the stuff!!

  9. Love these images …good enough to eat : ))

  10. Looks tasty and delicious. 🙂

  11. I have to echo everyone else…you truly are a food artist. I have never heard of misting, but I am sure the results are tasty.

  12. I have become gluten sensitive since last year, all of a sudden nd miss bread often..your recipe sounds tempting to try 🙂 I wish I could be your guest 🙂

    • Thats a very cool comment…..why not!! Any way, its all in the presentation and of course it really is so different from wheat bread. But I should say these open sandwiches tasted great. and my friends loved it.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  13. I bet the rosemary smells so good when the bread just out of the oven! 🙂

  14. Looks delicious!! And I’m sure tastes equally awesome!! 🙂

  15. No I’m not, this was just for the challenge that I came up with.And by the way sorry for not replying sooner.

Leave a Reply

