Intricate window with pillars for the Chennakesava Temple

A window at the Chennakesava temple

Lord Vishnu’s Temple in South India

This photograph that you see is a tiny part of the stunning Chennakesava temple. Construction began sometime in 1117 A.D. and lasted over a hundred years to complete. Photographing this temple was overwhelming for me, since it is literally wall-to-wall of sculptures. There is so much to absorb it is mind-boggling. And on that day that I visited there were no lights inside the temple, whether it is always the case or was I fortunate I don’t know, because I loved photographing the inside with just the hint of the outside light streaming in. It created such drama with the elaborate stonework sculpted by masters of the ancient Indian world.

 

I am in the last phase of my photo-journal that I will have ready in a few weeks, I will have it digitally available both on Amazon and on the Apple bookstore for those that would be interested. I have covered both the outside and the dark insides of this magnificent temple. You can see this temple through my eyes and appreciate ancient Indian art in all this glory.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/photo-challenges/ornate/

This entry was published on November 7, 2015 at 5:00 am. It’s filed under Art, Belur, India, Photography, Temple, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

29 thoughts on “A window at the Chennakesava temple

  1. Looking forward to the photo journal!

  2. Beautiful. Your wonderful picture made me go back and explore my shots from India. Thank you. I have used this post as inspiration for my scheduled post on Nov 18th on my new photo blog. It will be linked to you. Please keep and eye out for it!

  3. so much ornate beauty all over the world, and this is an exceptional one.

  4. Magnificent, Great lighting! Looking forward to your photo journey ! πŸ™‚

  5. Whoa!!! Did we put up photographs of the same place this time for Ornate ! πŸ˜‰ Same pinch!

  6. I love the details and the light is amazing! And you are right, it created a very cinematic effect! Great!

  7. A magnificent click!! πŸ™‚

  8. Yes, I like that effect too in photography of old edifices. That subtle amount of natural ambient light making its way into dim or dark places.

  9. Have visited the Belur temple during my college excursion, and tried to photograph, but the pictures blacked out. Thanks for the pictures.

    • Yes I understand, I always shoot my pictures in manual mode, that way I know how the pictures turn out.

      I want to go back and do it again but this time I’d like to film it too.

      Thanks for your comments!

  10. renu singh on said:

    India has such ancient artistic sculptures that are incredible in themselves & the way your camera has captured this one is amazingly incredible…thanks for bringing it to us.

Leave a Reply

