Raw Vegan burger

A Vegan Burger

All raw veggies yet amazing….

This is a vegan burger, everything raw. What I did is take portobello mushrooms and used them as buns. The filling is a guacamole salad-avacodos, pearl onions, strips of cucumber, cherry tomatoes and cilantro, then seasoned with sea salt.

Jicama was used to replace fries and I made a fresh mint chutney that replaces the tomato chutney. Honestly the jicama with mint chutney was just divine….Just try it and you will agree with me, I’m sure!!

 

Dinner for one

This entry was published on April 16, 2016 at 10:11 pm. It’s filed under Art, Cooking, Food, foodie, Gluten-free, Leaves, Love, Photography, Postaday, Recipe, Vegan, vegetarian, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

36 thoughts on “A Vegan Burger

  1. Reblogged this on On the Road Cooking and commented:
    I am so impressed with this vegan meal I had to reblog it.. And since I’m feeling courageous about reblogging there’s a few others I’ll be sharing soon šŸ˜‰

  2. This is awesome and you are my first reblog šŸ˜„
    Great photo too šŸ‘

  3. Very interesting šŸ™‚

    • Are you a vegetarian? If you are, this is an amazing combination of vegetables. The bigger question is…. will you get the stuff where you are? And if you do its easy and wonderful.

      Thanks for your comments!

      • I am a vegetarian šŸ™‚ only exception being the egg which I started recently. I believe I do get these here. The only problem is that šŸ„. I aint too fond of it. Might have to replace that with bread.

      • Or you can use any other vegetable that resembles a bun, I’ll have to think about it.

        The reason being that I wanted to observe the strict guidelines of a vegan, noting cooked and only vegetables.

      • Ah ok. That makes sense šŸ™‚

  4. I think this is my favourite of the dinnertime challenges. This really made my mouth water. It is difficult to get a good photo of food. I was a vegetarian for 30 years and often ate vegan food too. I must confess I have never tried Jicama.

    • I guess the definition for vegan is totally uncooked food, I hope I’m right!
      Well, Jicama raw is really crisp and crunchy, a good organic one is the way to go. I found this out when I bought a cheaper one at one of the Hispanic stores and found a vast difference. It tastes similar to an apple or a firm pear. It is also ranked as a super food my many.

      Thanks for stopping!!

      • This recipe looks and sounds amazing. To be vegan is to eat nothing animal-based (eggs, honey, meat, fish, poultry). It is stricter than vegetarian. I have been vegetarian for 40+ years and vegan for five. Your recipe is a raw recipe, which is wonderful for any diet. And I am fascinated by the mint chutney–Yum!!

      • May be its time to put a recipe book together, I have quite a few recipes and presentations along the same line.

        Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      • I’ll have to look out for it here in the South of England. Even if people are not Vegan, I read in some health article that at least 40% of one’s food intake should be raw food.

      • Yes you are absolutely right.

  5. So well done, looks like a photo from a foodie magazine.

  6. Great feed! I’m just wondering a tad about the raw mushroom… šŸ˜‰

    • Yes, mushrooms can be eaten raw by the way. It won’t hurt the try I guess!!

      • I do eat bits of button mushrooms raw in salad… so, I’ll just have to step up and eat two portobello’s in one go!

      • Oh boy…don’t force yourself, you could try something else, may be leaves of lettuce. Honestly I wanted to do something for vegans.

        Let me further explain what I did or should I say what I was intending to do…..I was trying to use only raw vegetables, nothing cooked. Because, that is what a vegan diet is supposed to be. And bare in mind, no dairy what so ever. There are folks that swear by this diet. My feeling is you cannot stay on this diet for too long. Only when you are really sick and what to heal. Thats a whole different topic for another time.

  7. This looks amazing and so life affirming to eat a great meal with so much goodness in it. Thank you for an armshot of culinary inspiration ready for the weekend. This reminds me of how much I love Portobello mushrooms. Going to hunt some out at the store. Sun is shining today!

  8. I like your idea of lettuce instead of the portobello mushrooms – definitely going to try this!

  9. this looks so meaty! ha! would love to try it someday – and great down view of this artsy set up

    • Thank you so much for your comments and by the way I’ve been wanting to do this for a long time, finally I got to do it.

      Tastes amazing, you should try it! Give me a holler if you need the entire recipe.

      • ok I will- but I have not been able to eat portabella shrooms since we all got sick at Medieval Times a few years ago – long story (not for this sweet post comment section) and so the rest would be awesome – but might need another option for bun?

      • Well you can cut cheeks of lettuce then soak it in a well seasoned dressing, such as cold pressed olive oil, fresh lemon, a little water, sea salt and your choice of herbs.and then place your guacamole in-between and serve.How does that sound.

        I guess many don’t like mushrooms your the second person that said that.

      • well I love mushrooms and had some on a burger – but it is the portabella I cannot stomach because I had it that night and well, you know –
        anyhow, the lettuce sounds good this way – thanks

  10. What a beautiful meal: I love this interpretation!

Leave a Reply

